Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Supreme Court Holds Valedictory Session For Hon. Justice Ejembi Eko

The Supreme  Court will on Monday 23rd hold valedictory court session in honour of Justice Ejembi Eko.

The session which will be presided over by the Chief Justice of Nigeria,  Hon. Dr. Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad,  will be held at the Main Courtroom of the Supreme Court of Nigeria at 10:00am.

According to the statement signed by the Supreme Court Director of Press and Information, Dr. Festus Akande, the session will traditionally feature speeches by major stakeholders in the Justice sector like the Honourable Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, President of the Nigerian Bar Association, Chairman of the Body of Senior Advocates of Nigeria and, of course, the Valedictorian,  Justice Ejembi Eko, JSC.

Hon. Justice Ejembi Eko who was born on 23rd May, 1952 in Benue State, was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1977 after completing his Law Degree in University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile Ife, in 1976. He worked in different law firms in Benue state before getting appointment as Director of Civil Litigation in April 1987. He became Permanent Secretary/Solicitor General in Benue State Ministry of Justice on 1st October, 1987; and later appointed to Benue State High Court Bench on 9th February,  1989. He subsequently acted as Chief Judge of Benue State between November 2005 and February 2006.

Justice Eko was sworn in as Justice of  the Court of Appeal on 15th February,  2008. He was subsequently elevated to the Supreme Court Bench on 7th November,  2016. With his retirement from the Supreme Court Bench, the ranks of the apex Court has been further depleted down to 17 Justices including the Chief Justice of Nigeria; with the earlier retirement of Justice Mary Peter-Odili on 12th May, 2022.

With the retirement of Justice Ejembi Eko, the underlisted will be the number of Supreme Court Justices left.

1. Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad
2. Justice Olukayode Ariwoola
3. Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad
4. Justice M. O. Kekere-Ekun
5. Justice Inyang Okoro
6. Justice Chima Centus Nweze
7. Justice Amina Adamu Augie
8. Justice Uwani Abba Aji
9. Justice Lawal Garba
10. Justice Helen M. Ogunwumiju
11. Abdu Aboki
12. Justice I.M.M. Saulawa
13. Justice Adamu Jauro
14. Tijjani Abubakar
15. Emmanuel A. Agim

What's your reaction?
0Love It!0Do Better!
Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment


This Pop-up Is Included in the Theme
Best Choice for Creatives

Purchase Now