Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

PDP Gains Two, NNPP One As Three APC Senators Defect

Three senators of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have resigned their membership of the party.

They are: Ahmad Babba-Kaita (Katsina North), Lawal Yahaya Gumau (Bauchi South) and Francis Alimikhena (Edo North).

Whilst Babba-Kaita and Alimikhena joined the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Gumau pitched his political tent with the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The notice of their resignation and defection was contained in three separate letters read during plenary yesterday by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Babba-Kaita’s letter reads: “As senator representing Katsina North, I write to formally notify you of my resignation from the APC, and registration declaration for the PDP.

“My resignation from the APC was borne out of the marginalisation of critical stakeholders by the state government and leadership of the party in Katsina State, where small people like me do not have a chance.

“I have since been joyfully and graciously accepted into the fold of the PDP in Katsina State.”

Alimikhena said his resignation from the ruling party emanated from “continuing and multifaceted crisis that has bedeviled the APC”, especially in his senatorial district, which he said “has created parallel executives that have undermined internal discipline, cohesion and focus”.

The defection by the three lawmakers reduces the number of APC senators from 70 to 67 in the Upper Chamber.

What's your reaction?
0Love It!0Do Better!
Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment


This Pop-up Is Included in the Theme
Best Choice for Creatives

Purchase Now