Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

NBA Constitutes Anti-Money Laundering Committee

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has constituted the Anti-Money Laundering Committee (NBAAMLC) in line with Rule 73 of the Rules of Professional Conduct for Legal Practitioners, 2023 (RPC).

The committee’s formation is subject to ratification by the National Executive Council (NEC).

In a notice dated June 9, 2024, NBA President Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, OON, SAN, announced the composition of the NBAAMLC, with Prof. Ernest Ojukwu, SAN, and Mr. Babajide Oladipo Ogundipe serving as co-chairs.

The other members of the committee include:

1. Prof. Adedeji Adekunle, SAN
2. Alheri Bulus Nyako
3. Esa Okibe Onoja
4. Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu
5. Prof. Umar Abubakar
6. Dr. Balkisu Saidu (Secretary)
7. Maryam Idris Abdulkadir (Assistant Secretary)

In addition to the duties prescribed in the Guidelines and Rules on Anti-Money Laundering and Combating the Financing of Terrorism for Legal Practitioners, the NBAAMLC shall advise the NBA on the implementation of Chapter 2 of the RPC and monitor compliance with its provisions.

The committee is expected to develop policies, procedures, and create a supervisory framework for carrying out its functions within seven days of its inauguration, scheduled for June 10, 2024, at 4:30 pm in a hybrid meeting format.

NBA President Maikyau expressed gratitude to the members for accepting the call to serve and urged all stakeholders to cooperate and support the committee in delivering on its mandate.

What's your reaction?
0Love It!0Do Better!
Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

This Pop-up Is Included in the Theme
Best Choice for Creatives

Purchase Now